xmlns="http://www.w3.org/2000/svg" viewBox="0 0 54 54">


The organisational structure consists of an Executive Board, the Secretariat and five departments.

The Executive Board includes the Director General and the Deputy Director General and is responsible for the day-to-day management of the Danish Health Authority.

Director General: Søren Brostrøm, sbro@sst.dk

Deputy Director General (acting): Helene Bilsted Probst, hpr@sst.dk


The Secretariat provides administrative support to the Executive Board and the entire organisation. Further, the Secretariat is responsible for internal and external communication, coordinates the Authority's international collaborations and projects, and manages finances, resources and legal issues.

Director: Marie Waarkjær, mwaa@sst.dk


Elderly & Dementia is responsible for rehabilitation, prevention and support for the elderly who have or are at risk of functional loss. A major focus area is to strengthen and ensure consistency between healthcare and social care efforts for senior citizens and people with dementia.

Director: Mads Biering la Cour, mbco@sst.dk


Evidence, Education & Emergency Services is in charge of the national clinical guidelines, screening programmes, and rational pharmacotherapy. The department is also responsible for the national health emergency plan, the Danish childhood immunisation programme and other tasks related to the prevention of infectious diseases.

Director (acting): Dan Brun Petersen, dabp@sst.dk

Director: Marlene Øhrberg Krag, mahk@sst.dk


Healthcare Planning plans the overall framework for public health-related services and hospitals. The department focuses on quality and coherent patient care.

Director (acting): Tanja Popp, tmpo@sst.dk


Health Promotion handles tasks in public health and general prevention with health promotion, including alcohol, tobacco, physical activity, nutrition, sexual health, mental health, drugs, environmental medicine, inequality in health, pregnancy and maternity and health care.

Director: Niels Sandø, nsa@sst.dk


Radiation Protection undertakes all regulatory functions and statutory duties related to radiation protection – whereever ionising radiation exists, is used or produced. 

Director: Mette Karin Øhlenschlæger, moe@sst.dk





Updated 23 JUN 2020